Definition: Euro area

Category: General concept

The euro area (EA15) consisted of 15 Member States up to 31 December 2008: Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia and Finland. From 1 January 2009 the euro area (EA16) also includes Slovakia.
Eurostat, News releases Euroindicators, No. 40/2009, 23 March 2009, Eurostat Press Office, Luxembourg, 2009